Get up to $1000 off during Memorial Day Sale

What are the Different e-Bike Classes?

Electric bicycles, or e-bikes for short, are becoming increasingly popular in the United States as a convenient and eco-friendly mode of transportation. However, not all e-bikes are created equal; they are classified into different groups based on their capabilities in power and speed. Each class of electric bikes has its own set of regulations, depending on the state which it is operated in.

Class 1 e-Bikes

Class 1 e-Bikes is the most common category of e-Bikes: they are pedal-assist and only provide power when the rider is pedaling. The motor stops as soon as pedaling ends.

These e-bikes have a maximum speed of 20 mph and are equipped with a motor that provides power up to 750 watts.

Class 2 e-Bikes

Class 2 e-Bikes, also known as "throttle-assist" bikes, have a similar power and speed capability as Class 1 e-bikes. However, they have a throttle control that allows the rider to engage the motor without pedaling. 

This means that the rider can use the motor to propel the bike forward, even when not pedaling.

Class 3 e-Bikes
Class 3 e-Bikes have a higher maximum speed of 28 mph. These e-bikes are designed for use on roads and are equipped with a speedometer. 

Riders must be at least 16 years old to ride a Class 3 e-bike in most states.

Additionally, a Class 4 distinction of e-bikes is emerging. These e-bikes go beyond the capabilities of Class 3 and have a maximum speed over 28mph and a power output of over 750 watts. These e-bikes blur the lines between bicycles and electric mopeds/motorbikes.

State Regulations

The rules regarding e-bikes vary from state to state. Some states classify e-bikes as bicycles, while others classify them as motor vehicles. This can affect the requirements for licensing, insurance, and helmet use. Some examples are listed below:

California: In California, Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes are recognized as bicycles, while Class 3 and Class 4 e-bikes are considered motorized vehicles. This means that Class 3 and Class 4 e-bikes require a license, registration, and insurance.

New York: New York has similar regulations to California, but has an additional requirement that all e-bikes, regardless of class, must be equipped with a bell or horn.

Texas: In Texas, e-bikes are classified as bicycles, and riders are not required to have a license, registration, or insurance. However, riders must be at least 14 years old, and helmets are required for riders under the age of 18.

It is important to check the regulations in your state before purchasing an e-bike. By understanding the different classes of e-bikes and state requirements, you can choose the right e-bike for your needs and stay safe while riding.

Looking for the perfect e-bike ?